HomeAbout UsNational Quality Standards



​National Quality Standards 

YMCA of Whittlesea Children's Services programs are underpinned by the Australian Children's Education & Care Quality Authority's (ACECQA) National Quality Standards (NQS).

The quality areas of the NQS are:

Educational program and practice 
​The Early Years Learning Framework, My Time, Our Place (or a prescribed curriculum framework) informs the development of a program for each child that enables and supports their learning and development.

Children’s health and safety
Every child’s health and wellbeing is safeguarded and promoted.

Physical environment
The physical environment is safe, suitable and provides a rich and diverse range of experiences to promote children’s learning and development.

Staffing arrangements 
Staffing arrangements create a safe and predictable environment for children and support warm, respectful relationships. Qualified and experienced educators and coordinators encourage children’s active engagement in the learning program.

Relationships with children
Relationships that are responsive, respectful and promote children’s sense of security and belonging, freeing them to explore the environment and engage in learning.​

Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
Respectful supportive relationships with families are developed and maintained. The service also engages with the community.

Leadership and service management 
Effective leadership contributes to sustained quality relationships and environments that facilitate children’s learning and development. This quality area includes service governance,​ commitment to continuous improvement, planning and evaluation and business management.
Bottom Image